The motivation behind any Search Engine Optimization (SEO) practice is to boost the business and enhance the return on investment. A better return on investment is a sign of a successful SEO campaign which can come in the form of better traffic, finances, conversions, and quality leads. Typically, marketers measure campaign success by one or more parameters like traffic, sales, leads, and SERP rankings. However, measuring SEO ROI is more sophisticated than you might think.
This post will take you through a detailed guide discussing measuring your SEO success and the critical parameters for calculating ROI.
What Does SEO Return on Investment Look Like?
Return on Investment (ROI) is used to evaluate a successful SEO strategy. The ROI is based on an estimated return on the initial investment. Estimating the ROI on SEO performance can be done via several indicators.
Some of the main elements include:
- Search Volume
- Organic Traffic
- Generated Revenue
When teams plan marketing budgets, the return on investment becomes essential for convincing decision-makers about the effectiveness of SEO strategies. For instance, if you have a marketing firm, you would want to elaborate on the importance of ROI on SEO to your clients and higher authorities.
You would want to project the SEO ROI on proposed practices to support your point.
How Can You Measure ROI On SEO
While SEO is technically quite challenging, ROI becomes an even more complicated domain for many business owners. Many organizations often cannot identify the true revenue and potential returns they might generate. As a result, the efficacy of SEO practices remains hidden.
However, with more focus on analytics and simplified tools to measure ROI on SEO, it’s much simpler to calculate SEO ROI in modern businesses. It happens because businesses are keen to understand their business performance and flow of revenue.
So, if you want to measure ROI on SEO, here are some simple ways.
Evaluate Average Click-Through Rate by Position
Measuring the ROI on average Click Through Rate (CTR) by position is a good indicator of SEO ROI. When users click on a specific ad while on a webpage, their click contributes to the CTR. So it gives an idea of how successfully a particular ad is running.
A higher CTR means that the users like the ad and it’s generating interest in the audience. Calculating CTR by position helps you determine ad performance and indicates where you should invest more.
Figure Out Your Conversion Analytics for Each Goal
As a marketer or content manager, it’s important to understand how your content is performing and whether it achieves the desired goals. Simply put, you must measure your conversion rates for your content goals.
Tools like Google Analytics are a good option for conducting conversion rate analysis. It helps in measuring SEO performance to give you a good understanding of ROI on SEO.
You can measure conversions for each goal separately. These goals may include newsletter signups, revenue, form submissions, etc. As a rule of thumb, evaluating your conversion rates of data up to 6 months old is best.
Find out the Worth of Each Conversion Goal
After evaluating the conversion goals, setting a monetary value for each should be easy. Estimating a value for each goal makes tracking expenses and estimating the ROI value easier.
Unless you know how much a marketing effort is worth, you can never tell whether your marketing efforts progress and whether specific SEO practices yield good or bad results for your business.
Calculate Your Revenue and Traffic with Search Volume
There are a few essential parameters to calculate the monthly estimated revenue for SEO. These parameters include:
- Click Through Rate (CTR)
- Conversion Rate (CVR)
- Monthly Search Volume
- Goal Value
Once these parameters are established, it’s time to plug them into a formula to determine the estimated revenue. Here is the formula:
Monthly Search Volume x CTR x CVR x Goal Value = Monthly Estimated SEO Revenue
Once you have the monthly figures, you can estimate the quarterly half-yearly, and yearly revenue estimates for SEO practices. The estimated revenue will allow you to calculate the estimated return on investment (ROI).
Estimated SEO ROI Calculation
Once you have the monthly Estimated SEO revenue, you can calculate the estimated SEO ROI.
The formula for return on investment is relatively straightforward. You will need the following parameter to calculate the ROI on SEO.
- Monthly Estimated Revenue
- Cost to Implement Strategy
The Estimated SEO ROI is calculated as a percentage of the cost of implementing the SEO Strategy. Here is the formula:
SEO ROI = (Est. Monthly SEO Revenue – Cost to Implement Strategy) x 100 / Cost to Implement Strategy
What are Some Other Critical Considerations for SEO ROI
In its true essence, evaluating the SEO ROI isn’t only about the performance of your SEO marketing tactics. Instead, it should also encircle other forms of the cost that go into making sure that the SEO strategies are properly implemented.
For instance, there can be many other expenses like agency, development, writing, etc. So, it’s essential to include these expenses to understand your ROI better. Here are some more details about the outlying SEO costs.
SEO Agency Cost
Digital Marketing Agencies that provide SEO solutions need a regular injection of money to run the administrative affairs and pay their employees. For instance, if you have hired someone for a specific project, you must provide benefits and salary. Therefore, include the SEO package and retainer cost in your ROI calculations.
SEO strategies need to be implemented on the websites. It means you will need a developer to adjust the website according to your SEO strategies. There might be new web pages or changes to existing ones.
Hence, any expense for paying an outsourced or in-house developer must be included in your SEO return on investment calculation.
Outreach and Link Building
Outreach and link building are critical for brand marketing and improving its recognition in the market. More importantly, they are tried and tested methodologies to ensure you get valuable website backlinks.
However, when you connect with authoritative sites for link building, you must also be ready to spend some money. Therefore, setting a budget for outreach and link-building is essential for successful SEO and marketing campaigns.
Now, you might do many things to market your products via SEO. Out of all, there must be at least three major practices that you should include in your ROI calculation for your business.
Content writing and Optimization
Content optimization is key for higher search engine ranks. Therefore, you might have written top-quality content and included the most authentic information for your blogs and websites, but it will only work well if the content is optimized for the search engine audience.
It means conducting keyword research and optimizing your content for search engines which requires money. Hence, when you start reaping the benefits of SEO, it’s important to factor in your initial spending on SEO practices.
In many ways, measuring SEO ROI is pivotal for your website. It gives you an understanding of what works and what doesn’t. Hence, it helps you prepare and optimize your content accordingly.
Understanding how your SEO practices affect your ROI usually takes up to six months. Hence, it’s a patience game for the initial few months.
Measuring the SEO ROI is vital for marketing firms to understand and improve their current SEO practices. It gives you more power as a content manager, helping you make more calculated decisions for your digital marketing firm.